Our team​


Karen Schrantz

Karen Schrantz

Executive Director

Karen Schrantz provides leadership as the Executive Director of Safe Crossings Foundation. Drawing on expertise from professional experience in both the private and public sector as a mediator, facilitator, educator, and executive director, Karen unites vision, energy and enthusiasm to her pursuit of bringing partners together to advance Safe Crossings Foundation’s mission. She received her BA in American Studies from California State University, Fullerton, her teaching degree from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor in Texas, her Master of Public Administration degree from the Evans School of Public Affairs at the University of Washington, and a specialty certificate from the UW’s Non-Profit Executive Leadership Institute.

Wendy Ozanne

Wendy Ozanne

Communication &

Development Manager

Wendy joined the team at Safe Crossings Foundation in the fall of 2018 bringing many years of nonprofit marketing, communications, and development experience. Wendy holds a BA in Organizational Communication from Northwest University, and a Masters in Nonprofit Leadership with a graduate certificate in Fundraising Leadership from Seattle University. Through past volunteer work Wendy saw firsthand how the death of a sibling or parent affects children and she wants to make sure every parent and child has access to free resources to help them through that tough time. Her passion for helping kids led her to SCF and she is eager to bring her knowledge and expertise to this wonderful organization.




Megan Sutherland, Community Volunteer

Josephine Vestal, Attorney, Williams Kastner

Nicole Storck, Tax Partner, PwC


Wesley Burns, Principal, Burns, Toussaint & Associates
Vice President

Lee Carswell, Senior Manager, West Monroe Partners

Annette Clark, Professor and Dean, Seattle University School of Law

Brett Earnest, Vice President, Clark Construction
Vice President

Thomas Hall, Retired CEO, People’s Injury Network NW

Shawn Hintz, Senior Vice President, UBS

Nathan Hoerschelmann, Attorney, Hoerschelmann Dietz PLLC

Heidi Howard, Director, Equinteractions

Sean Leary, Vice President, Alliant Employee Benefits

Michael Lightfoot, Amazon

Jessica Abramson Lott, Principal, Curiosity Works

Nathan Musgrove, Credit Analyst, Heritage Bank

Avi Negrin, Google

Colleen Robertson, Senior Marketing Manager, Expedia

Debra Rubin Levin, Community Volunteer

Mike Turian, Principal Product Designer, Wizards of the Coast

UW Board Fellows (non-Voting)

Natalie Jones Baitcher, UW Foster School of Business

Directors Emeritus

Diane Aboulafia, CEO, Great Work Strategic Communications

Teresa Bigelow, Community Volunteer – Safe Crossings Foundation Founder

Donna Haggarty-Robbins, Owner, You’re My Heroine

Bill Leedom, Community Volunteer

Flip Morse, Community Volunteer


Crockett Family Foundation

Dupar Foundation

D.V. and Ida J. McEachern Charitable Trust

Gunnerson Family Charitable Fund

Hasbro Children’s Fund

Kelly Foundation of Washington

Kawabe Memorial Fund

McKinstry Company Charitable Foundation

Muckleshoot Indian Tribe

Puget Sound Energy Foundation

Puyallup Tribe’s Charity Funds

The Norcliffe Foundation

Ruth Anderson Wheeler and Henry O Wheeler Charitable Trust


Scroll to Top